Help! There's No Crisco Here!

Decorating By rsdd108 Updated 10 Oct 2007 , 3:51pm by Ironbaker

rsdd108 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rsdd108 Posted 8 Oct 2007 , 3:28am
post #1 of 19

I just traveled all the way to Australia with half a suitcase full of cake decorating supplies only to discover that there's no Crisco here! (Well, it's available for $20/lb by mail order.)

I'm quite new to all this and I don't know how to make a crusting BC that will hold up for flowers and be easy to smooth with a hot spatula.

Any suggestions?

I don't do eggs, so I use BC in place of RI for flowers, which means something that has to dry not melt, will I be able to do this without Crisco or meringue powder?

Thank you!

18 replies
SugarFrosted Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarFrosted Posted 8 Oct 2007 , 3:42am
post #2 of 19

I bet one of the CC members from Australia will be able to suggest something appropriate.

So here's a bump icon_smile.gif

Janette Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Janette Posted 8 Oct 2007 , 3:48am
post #3 of 19

Is there a cake decorating shop you could call?

playingwithsugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
playingwithsugar Posted 8 Oct 2007 , 3:54am
post #4 of 19

Gee, I wish you would have searched the archives before venturing out there. There have been quite a few threads in the past regarding Crisco not being readily available out there. They use copha, which is a form of coconut oil. Unfortunately, it is not useable for your purposes. There are a couple of stores in AU which sell Crisco, or something similar, but since I am in the US, and do not use shortening at all, I do not keep information on those threads.

Theresa icon_smile.gif

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 8 Oct 2007 , 3:55am
post #5 of 19

I believe something called "camphor" or like that which is coconut oil hardened is what they use. HTH

gateaux Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gateaux Posted 8 Oct 2007 , 4:04am
post #6 of 19