Cake Decorating Time Frame

Decorating By SugarBakers05 Updated 6 Feb 2007 , 6:35pm by tyty

SugarBakers05 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarBakers05 Posted 6 Feb 2007 , 3:59am
post #1 of 10

Hello there, just wanted to get an idea how long on average does it take you to complete a decorated cake. Not counting the baking time- just from the time you lay your crumb-coat to the final product. I've been coming along with this but it always takes me anywhere between 4 hours and up. Is that normal, or does it get quicker with time. icon_confused.gif By the time I finish, every muscle in my body aches.

9 replies
Nadya Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Nadya Posted 6 Feb 2007 , 4:24am
post #2 of 10

It takes me about 3- 4 hours too, not counting the time it takes me to make roses or other flowers in advance. But then I am just a beginner. I think I could decorate faster with practice or if I am in a hurry to finish the cake icon_smile.gif My muscles hurt too because of standing and leaning over the counter while decorating. I need to get me a small table with a chair or something icon_rolleyes.gif

GeminiRJ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GeminiRJ Posted 6 Feb 2007 , 1:04pm
post #3 of 10

It seems like no matter what size cake I do, or how I decorate it, I always end up spending about 2 hours. Not counting clean-up. (I only do buttercream, so I'm sure fondant would be more time consuming.)

mcalhoun Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mcalhoun Posted 6 Feb 2007 , 1:13pm
post #4 of 10

You will get faster as time goes. It depends on the cake I am doing how long it takes. The bathtub cake in my photos took about 4 hours, but there are alot of bubbles there. Some things I have found to help "speed" things up is to have my buttercream made ahead of time. I cand make it in the morning or the night before and it seems to help. An easier cake may take me any where from 1 to 2 hours.