I Need Help

Decorating By fabbo Updated 5 Feb 2007 , 4:54am by Sugarbunz

fabbo Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
fabbo Posted 4 Feb 2007 , 6:34pm
post #1 of 22

With how to cover this in fondant? I've already peeled the fondant off once because the corners looked so bad. HELP!!!!
LL

21 replies
karateka Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
karateka Posted 4 Feb 2007 , 6:38pm
post #2 of 22

Do you have a picture?

fabbo Posted 4 Feb 2007 , 6:39pm
post #3 of 22

Sorry the pic was too large to attach last time, now it's there.

fabbo Posted 4 Feb 2007 , 6:44pm
post #4 of 22

Please anyone, I've got to finish this before the party. It's supposed to look like the superbowl trophy when I'm done.

Tomoore Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tomoore Posted 4 Feb 2007 , 6:45pm
post #5 of 22

Should each layer have been done individually?

SheilaF Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SheilaF Posted 4 Feb 2007 , 6:46pm
post #6 of 22

I'm not an expert on fondant, but I think you are supposed to frost the cake before covering it in fondant. That'll make the sides smoother, but it's also tall, so I'd guess you have to wrap it around and blend the edges somehow. Hopefully someone will have more insight for you.....

fabbo Posted 4 Feb 2007 , 6:47pm
post #7 of 22

It needs to have a straight smooth edge to look loke the pedestal for the football on top.

Tomoore Posted 4 Feb 2007 , 6:48pm
post #8 of 22

Ok...so I'm definitely no pro at this...but maybe an option would be to use modeling chocolate to cover the sides. I've only seen it done on TV and it looks relatively easy. That way you wouldn't have all the seams from the individual layers of fondant. Make sense?

Tiffysma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Tiffysma Posted 4 Feb 2007 , 6:49pm
post #9 of 22