Making A Wine Barrel Cake

Baking By theresaf Updated 28 Sep 2020 , 8:55pm by -K8memphis

theresaf Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
theresaf Posted 24 Sep 2020 , 8:09pm
post #1 of 29

Hello all my friends!

I have been asked to make a wine barrel cake for my haircutter for December.  Like a paying gig - sort of!  As you may know I am a hobby baker and everything I make is big because I like the way it looks not necessarily because it needs to feed x amount of people.  Now this cake is to serve 50 people and it will be cut at an event place so they will cut the right sizes not family-style.  (PS that's pretty optimistic to have an indoor event in December in NY for 50 people these days but hope springs eternal!!)

So far I am thinking of the starting size being 10"/8"/8" board 8"/8"/10"  (the 10" is the top and the bottom)

How do I figure out how many that serves?  

Thanks in advance,

Theresa

28 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 24 Sep 2020 , 10:14pm
post #2 of 29

aren't wine barrels bigger in the middle and smaller at the top and bottom usually

-K8memphis Posted 24 Sep 2020 , 10:22pm
post #3 of 29

but anyway -- how tall will this be? are those 2" tall layers?

SandraSmiley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandraSmiley Posted 24 Sep 2020 , 10:31pm
post #4 of 29

My thought too, -K8.  I think she means the two 8" tiers will be the top and bottom with the 10" in the middle.  I would do it as a double barrel with two 10" layers and two 8" layers on top of a cake board and the same configuration, in reverse, on the bottom.  This will yield approximately 60 party size servings.

-K8memphis Posted 24 Sep 2020 , 10:33pm
post #5 of 29

so i would make it 8" across 10" tall and 10" across the fattest part of the middle for the profile i would want -- that could be fudged on some -- that's a nice amount over the servings you need -- not too much -- -- i would do from the bottom up 9x10x10 board 10x10x9 pre-carving size