Help! My Cakes Are Too Dense!

Baking By GinaMarie216 Updated 6 Jun 2019 , 11:53pm by -K8memphis

GinaMarie216 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
GinaMarie216 Posted 6 Jun 2019 , 2:32pm
post #1 of 5

Trust me, I know this question has been asked and answered hundreds of times, but hear me out. I am not a beginner or a novice. I'm 36 and I have been baking since I was 12. I've always had this problem, but I've recently decided to open a bakery and I feel as if I can't do that until I fix this density problem.

I've legit tried everything. Here's my process.

• I bring all ingredients to room temp
  • I use commercial aluminum baking pans
  • All ingredients are restaurant quality
  • I never trust a level measuring cup
  • I weigh and sift everything. Even salt.
  • I add flour, or dry ingredient mix, in stages alternating with milk/buttermilk and extracts
  • I add in 1/3 increments starting and ending with dry ingredients
  • I mix until just barely combined on low-medium speed

Wtf am I doing wrong? And it's just white, vanilla, and yellow cakes! My chocolate cake, carrot cake, red velvet, etc. are perfect every time.

Here's a couple things that *might* affect the outcome:

• Sometimes I use more extract than called for
  • I use large and extra large eggs interchangeabley depending on what I have in the fridge
  • I don't weigh eggs
  • I *might* be over-baking
  • I don't always use cake flour

I say "might" because I do the same for all cakes and, as mentioned, the denseness is only a problem with white, vanilla, and yellow.

I'm desperate, so any and all advice is appreciated

4 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 6 Jun 2019 , 3:45pm
post #2 of 5

it depends on the recipes and i’m not trying to get you to spill state secrets — but some of the procedures you list aren’t even necessary and some have nothing to do with density so...idk

-K8memphis Posted 6 Jun 2019 , 4:59pm
post #3 of 5