Specialty Cakes

Business By Cakes_and_Faith Updated 14 Nov 2018 , 3:08pm by SandraSmiley

Cakes_and_Faith Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakes_and_Faith Posted 13 Nov 2018 , 4:49pm
post #1 of 4

Hello everyone, I’ve been baking cakes for about 4 years now. I started out making simple cakes for holidays and then started getting more skills under my belt and doing more advanced designs. I get questions from potential customers asking if I can do certain cakes that I’m not skilled for and of course I’m honest if I know I can’t fulfill their request. But I wanted to know, is it important for a baker to have a wide variety of skill sets to please the customers or is it better to perfect a few decorating skills/specialties that you can offer your customers?

3 replies
inthekitchen2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
inthekitchen2 Posted 13 Nov 2018 , 6:11pm
post #2 of 4

Well, you're turning away business, and any future business that they may word of mouth about you, people that taste it, etc. I'm not telling you to do what you can't, but in my opinion, if you're really into it as a business, then learn.

I've never turned down an order because I didn't think I could do it. I study up, figure it out, and accept challenges. I love carving cakes, such as vehicles, or 3 foot tall figures, etc. I am so amazed at myself when these tasks are accomplished. Maybe they are not for you? But, for me, they are some of the most rewarding cakes I do, and I am amazed that I, myself made these. In the cake world there are always new trends and new skills to learn. I feel like it is never ending. I always want to learn new techniques and continue to improve however I can. I would have sold myself short had I not accepted challenges and would never know what I was capable of otherwise. 

yortma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yortma Posted 13 Nov 2018 , 7:42pm
post #3 of 4