Time Management When Making Fondant Cakes

Decorating By lukbeealady Updated 15 Oct 2018 , 4:12pm by SandraSmiley

lukbeealady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lukbeealady Posted 15 Oct 2018 , 5:03am
post #1 of 5

I am relatively new to baking, but of the 4 or 5 fondant cakes I've made over the past year, I have found myself always scrambling to finish my cakes on event day and completely stressed out hours to days beforehand trying to get it done....even when I make my gum paste figurines weeks in advance! What I've been doing is: 

Night 1: baking cake, making icing, cutting and assembling cake, frosting, (time for bed, so) place cake in fridge overnight

Night 2: color and roll out fondant, cover cake with fondant, start making and applying decorative fondant pieces into cake (I can do this well into 4am, at which point I call it quits, so) back in fridge

Day 3: Wake up and freak out that I only have half a day to finish up cake and spend all my time up until event frantically finishing up last pieces....and never really feeling done. 

I'm a hobby baker so as you can see, I only have time to make cakes in the evening. My main problem is that it takes me a loooong time to do all the pretty fondant stuff to apply onto cake. Can I alter my timeline so that I can give myself more nights to do the decorative part? I am under the impression that you should cover your cake with fondant within a day of serving, so that leaves little time for me to make and apply the decorative pieces onto the cake. I am also not sure of the implications of taking the cake in and out of fridge to decorate. Any advice or suggestions?

4 replies
jmt1714 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jmt1714 Posted 15 Oct 2018 , 11:53am
post #2 of 5

color your fondant and icing the weekend before.