Help With Double Barrel/2 Tier Wedding Cake For 100!

Baking By rachel.f Updated 9 Aug 2018 , 10:17pm by me_me1

rachel.f Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rachel.f Posted 9 Aug 2018 , 1:32am
post #1 of 7

Hi everyone - I'm new to Cake Central and need some advice on a wedding cake I've been tasked with making for a friend next month. I've done a few cakes before but never on this scale (to serve 100) and never a double barrel/double height tier.

I found this post on Sprinkle Bakes (https://www.sprinklebakes.com/2014/03/chocolate-celebration-cake-for-100.html) which is what I'm basing the shape on and I've found the step-by-step guide really helpful!
Mine will have a double barrel 10" cake on the bottom tier, with an 8 inch top tier. The cake is going to be covered in a white chocolate cream cheese ganache-like frosting > no fondant.

I don't have the cake separators that have been used in the link, but I've read that it would also be fine to use cake boards to separate the double-height tier (for cutting), and underneath the top tier. Is that right?

My main questions are about cake boards:
- What size drum board should I use under the base? Would a 13" be sufficient to allow for frosting to be added to the 10" cake and still have room for some fresh flowers around the base of the cake?
- What size board should be used in the double barrel tier?  11" to use as a frosting guide all the way around (I read this somewhere on the internet) or 10" so it's the same size as the cake itself (but I assume you will have to use your finger to find the cake board through the frosting when it comes time to separate the layers to cut)?
- What size cake board beneath the top 8" tier -  8" (cake size) or 9" (as a frosting guide as above)

I'm based in Sydney Australia - if anyone has any recommendations, tips or tricks I would be super grateful.  Hope I'm being clear - some of the terminology is new to me!

Cheers,
Rachel

6 replies