Help!!! Cake Leaning!!

Decorating By Kelbel2440 Updated 23 Jun 2018 , 3:58pm by SandraSmiley

Kelbel2440 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Kelbel2440 Posted 22 Jun 2018 , 12:00am
post #1 of 10

I making a unicorn cake for tomorrow. I started doing the crumb coat, and I swear it is leaning. Are my eyes deceiving me, or do you see the lean?  What do I do if it is leaning! The cake is five layers stacked with butter cream and strawberry preserves filling between each layer. Should I have put some type of support in the middle? Is there a way to stop it from leaning more? I’m very new to this, and could use all the advice I can get! Here’s the pictures… Help!!! Cake Leaning!!Help!!! Cake Leaning!!

9 replies
bubs1stbirthday Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bubs1stbirthday Posted 22 Jun 2018 , 12:16am
post #2 of 10

What you want to do next time I think (if anything at all as it's hardly noticeable) is trim the edges of your cake so that you can ice to the edges of your cake board, this will give you a nice even covering of icing as you are starting with an even distance between the cake and edge of the board.

It looks to me like one of the cakes may be a bit close to the edge of your board so in trying to ice it evenly it's pushing you out a little (see the first photo, bottom right there is a difference in the distance between the cake and board as you look up the cake and again on the top left.

Honestly though once you ice and decorate that cake it will be even less noticeable and I can't see any reason that it will be structurally compromised.

bubs1stbirthday Posted 22 Jun 2018 , 12:21am
post #3 of 10

Also a smooth turntable (no baking paper) and a scraper will make it much easier for you to get even, smooth icing than a spatula and baking paper on the turn table and you just hold the scraper in place and turn the table to get a nice even finish (After you use the spatula to apply the icing of course :-) )