How Far In Advance Can I Do These Cakes?!

Baking By Zbowles Updated 9 Jun 2018 , 6:04pm by -K8memphis

Zbowles Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Zbowles Posted 7 Jun 2018 , 4:04pm
post #1 of 12

So I have two cakes to make this weekend! They're both due Saturday (6/9/2018) and I'm trying not to stress myself out too much, some advice would be helpful. I'll explain the cakes I have to make and then perhaps someone could give some advice to a newbie! Please and thank you. :3 

1st Cake: So this first cake is one that is making me nervous because it is my first attempt at a book cake! It is an open book made with a carved sheet cake, frosted with home made buttercream, and then covered in white fondant. After it settles I planned to use edible brown and black dust to give it some dimension and to make it look like a worn leather book and whatnot. Then I will sit a sleeping dragon on top!  

Side note: I was going to make the dragon's body out of rice krispies and then cover it in gumpaste and make the wings from gumpaste, should I wait to make this until Friday so they don't droop or would it be fine to do tonight? (6/7/2018) I know gumpaste dries as hard as rock, but I've never worked with rice krispies.

2nd Cake: The second cake will be a simple round 8'' inch red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting. It will be layered pretty normally and covered in the frosting before I apply some gold leaf and then a simple floral arrangement. 

Side note: Should I add any extra support as I will be transporting this cake for drop off. Like should I add any pillers down the middle and sides? Just don't want it tilting! I plan to freeze it relatively well before transporting it though. 

11 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 7 Jun 2018 , 6:15pm
post #2 of 12