Edible Marker On Wafer Paper

Decorating By bvwilliams Updated 6 Jun 2018 , 4:43am by bvwilliams

bvwilliams Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bvwilliams Posted 5 Jun 2018 , 1:32am
post #1 of 6

Does anyone know if you can use edible markers to draw a picture on wafer paper then adhere it to a cake?  I've never used wafer paper before so I'm not sure what it can and cannot do.  I want to do the potato chip bag that I saw on CC, but I don't have an edible printer to make the label.  So I thought I could use colored edible markers to draw it on wafer paper then I could stick it on the cake.  By the way, how would I stick the wafer paper onto the cake potato chip bag?

Thanks.

5 replies
SandraSmiley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandraSmiley Posted 5 Jun 2018 , 12:21pm
post #2 of 6

I have limited experience with wafer paper on the cake because I hate the idea of eating it.  If you have a grocery store that sells cakes or a Walmart near you, they probably have edible printers and the ones in my community will happily print an image for you on a sugar sheet or wafer paper and charge the same as they would for any cake decoration.

theresaf Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
theresaf Posted 5 Jun 2018 , 3:03pm
post #3 of 6

I have and the liquid from the marker does start to disintegrate the paper - even though it will dry - and it curls up a bit .  It's definitely an experiment to try.  Since the paper is so absorbent it's harder to get crisp lines, in my limited experience!

I most recently used it to draw Wheel of Fortune logos and other details on a slot machine cake I did this weekend for my brother.  The paper was then edible-glued onto fondant and it worked out nicely.  I was thinking I could also adhere it to gum paste and then stick that on the cake but for my purposes it wasn't necessary - I was concerned the added weight would make it more likely to fall off (I had to drive it 45miles).

Theresa  

WYBee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile