Help!!!

Decorating By thecanadian160 Updated 13 Mar 2018 , 2:57pm by jchuck

thecanadian160 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
thecanadian160 Posted 9 Mar 2018 , 1:59am
post #1 of 30

I have been asked to do a single tier unicorn cake along with 50 cupcakes. Sounds pretty strait forward right? Well no, not for me. You see, I am what you would call a COMPLETE NOOB when it comes to piping. I do have pastry bag but it has been lying in constant state of hibernation clear at the bottom of my cake box.  So, I would like to get some quality feedback on things like; what tips I should be getting, how to achieve  those solid rainbow colored swirls that make everyone's teeth look like they have murdered a gaggle of trolls, tulip or regular paper cups, and should I be practicing my technique or will be winging it be OK? 

29 replies
SandraSmiley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandraSmiley Posted 9 Mar 2018 , 4:50am
post #2 of 30

You can use any large star tip for piping the mane, thecanadian160.  Yes, you should probably practice on a piece of wax paper, at least a few times, before piping on the cake.  In fact, you can do all the decorations on wax paper, put them in the refrigerator or freezer and let them get firm, then transfer them to your cake with a small spatula.  You could do a combination of rosettes (the swirl seen on top if cupcakes) and stars in different sizes.  To get multicolored frosting in each piece, you can fill three small bags with different colors frosting and drop all three of them into a larger bag that has been fitted with your tip or, just paint stripes of color down the sides of your bag and the frosting will pick it up as you pipe.

As to the cupcakes, I would use regular cups, sinced the cake is the star of the show, and just decorate them with a rosette on top....and a tiny horn and ears, if you are really energetic.

thecanadian160 Posted 9 Mar 2018 , 4:26pm
post #3 of 30