Help! Customers Assume Im Expensive

Business By LDCcakes Updated 3 Feb 2018 , 6:05pm by -K8memphis

LDCcakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LDCcakes Posted 1 Feb 2018 , 2:35am
post #1 of 13

Hey Everyone,

Im having trouble responding to posts, so appologies if I cant answer questions.

Ive been caking for a few years now and exhibited in a few bridal fairs. The response I get is very positive. Customers loving my work, love my cake samples and flavours, i have partnered with various affiliates now and become a preffered supplier to alot of businesses.

My issues I have found recently  (candid feedback from customers) is they initially see my work and even though they love it, assume I'm too expensive or out of their price range and just walk by and don't investigate further. The few who do take a look, realise quite quickly that my prices are very fair, or cheaper than most cake suppliers in my area.

How do I try to advertise/ show that I'm quite affordable and get more customers to contact me for a quote at expos.

I already give out free samples, offer free tasting/ consult, promos and include prices on my display cakes.

examples of my work: www.lyonsdencakes.com

12 replies
johnson6ofus Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
johnson6ofus Posted 1 Feb 2018 , 4:14am
post #2 of 13

Beautiful website! But, not a single mention of price...anywhere. I can see why some would hesitate. No one wants to be embarrassed by going after something beautiful that is WAY out of their budget. Your work is awesome, BTW. 

How about posting a "signature cake of the month"? Highlight a nicely decorated theme cake, say 20-30 servings, price it as you normally would, take off 10%, and post it with a price. It is a win-win. Maybe some will order it just as a special treat (and maybe become lifelong customers), and others will see a "ballpark" price range that you are in.