Cake Pricing...

Lounge By pinknomore

pinknomore Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pinknomore Posted 22 Nov 2017 , 2:20pm
post #1 of 1

Hi all!

New to this forum, but I need to get it off my chest. Cake pricing! I was a baker for eight years, registered and health inspected, and proud to be. However, I just gave up eventually. I had clients phoning me, asking if they can supply their own cupcake decorations, glitter, or even the papercups in which the goods were baked, in exchange for a lower price. My prices were not extreme... R5 each, (South African rand) which was the regular market price, for vanilla, choc, red velvet.. the mainstreams..  cupcakes in a nr 14 papercup with buttercream icing. (cake filled the papercup all the way to the brim, and topped with a nice big swirl of buttercream).

I could not pay the utilities anymore, I accepted as many orders as I could manage.  I could not handle the constant begging and argueing over cake prices anymore. I honestly could not.

In away, it destroyed that sense of pride I had, in my work, in producing something I wa so proud of, only to have people bickering over prices..  every recipe was tested by a professional cake decorator, and I got good feeback, every time! I took four days off in a year. Worked ridiculous hours. All to have clients phoning me with these silly stupid requests.

I missed out on Christmas with my family, so many times... birthdays, get togethers. I am upset and sad and angry with all these people, and with myself for not just ending those calls, for eccentially being bullied.