Cake Mysteriously Collapsed?

Business By sunlover00 Updated 12 Oct 2017 , 3:24pm by inthekitchen2

sunlover00 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sunlover00 Posted 9 Oct 2017 , 12:32am
post #1 of 22

Need advice.....I had to email the bride to remind her to return my cake stand.  She emailed me back saying the cake was great but there was a problem.  She says the entire bottom layer of the cake had collapsed before they got there.  The hall "saved" the top 3 layers but the bottom was unusable.  She says she will send me pictures that the hall took in a few days. 

I cannot understand how this happened!  I've been doing cake for 16 years!!  Not once has this happened.  The only difference....this was a Naked Cake.  I have done naked cakes before but they all had a crumb coat of frosting on them where this one did not.  I had at least 15-20 wooden dowel supports in the 18" layer.  The hall was very chilly so it wasn't at heat issue.

She sent me a photo of the 3-tier after the "save" and there is even a side that looks like it's falling.  I'm not sure why the hall didn't replace the flowers at that area, but....who knows.

Any thoughts on what may have happened (other than someone really bumping the table)??   Also, should I offer her a refund for the entire bottom layer??  Or a portion of that cost?  I don't know how to handle this.

4-tier Picture is of my cake when I left, and the 3-tier she sent me from her cake cutting ceremony.Cake Mysteriously Collapsed?Cake Mysteriously Collapsed?

21 replies
SandraSmiley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandraSmiley Posted 9 Oct 2017 , 4:20am
post #2 of 22

That sure sounds suspicious.  Your cake looks level, stable and sturdy as can be.  Go figure??

remnant3333 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
remnant3333 Posted 9 Oct 2017 , 8:20am
post #3 of 22