Can't Find A Good Decorator

Business By Valscake Updated 6 Aug 2017 , 8:38pm by sylly

Valscake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Valscake Posted 5 Aug 2017 , 8:54pm
post #1 of 10

Hi everyone,

I am in Albuquerque New Mexico and I manage a very popular, high end cupcake / cake bakery.  I have done cakes for 16 years and I'm a good decorator, self-taught.  But I am not fast enough to do cakes in a commercial environment.  I need an experienced cake decorator who is used to working quickly in a commercial bakery.   I am having a very difficult time finding that person.  So first off let me say, if any of you are experienced, talented, fast, hardworking, artistic, and here in my area, please get a hold of me, I've got a job for you!

So I have placed a $500 advertisement in the local paper for a month.  I have an ad on Craig's list, and one on Indeed.  We are offering what are good wages here ($16-$18 an hour), part-time, flexible hours, just so long as all the cakes get done.  I bring in candidates that can show me some pics of cakes that look half decent.  They have to come in and decorate a cake, start to finish in 40 minutes. I have had nothing but..(forgive harsh nature) horrible, unprofessional, awful looking cakes.  Most cannot even do the most fundamental things, like leveling a cake, even borders, scrollwork, smooth icing, and a buttercream rose.  I've had some that decorated the cake right on the turntable (no board underneath), I've had sides falling off, humped cakes...you name it.  If it wasn't such a serious situation, I would be laughing.

But...Our bakery HAS to have a decorator to be able to do well financially.  Where else should I look?  I've also tried reaching out to some decorators that are at other bakeries.  Also, I've dropped off business cards to the girls at Costco bakery and the grocery store bakeries.  I am at a loss.  Please, if you have any suggestions,  I'm willing to entertain any thoughts.