Artisan Vanilla Scratch Cake Recipe Sinking

Baking By tashakitchencat Updated 8 Jun 2017 , 8:25am by mkcherry

tashakitchencat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tashakitchencat Posted 23 May 2017 , 7:39am
post #1 of 4

I am on the hunt for a new base cake recipe and thought I'd try Liz Marek's. Previously Planet Cake's, which I still love but it is just too hard to get ingredients like chocolate where I am currently living, here in Sri Lanka. I've seen people get great results with Liz's recipe so I know it must be something I'm doing. I really want this recipe to work for me because it's got a good list of kitchen staple ingredients - no buttermilk, not a lot of chocolate etc. 

I'm a pretty experienced baker but I've tried three times now with the same results. The batter is thick and I can see ribbons drop from the paddle - the consistency looks fine. My cakes rise well during baking but then drop, or deflate. They deflate evenly across the whole surface, but I really want that fluffy, high rise. 

The only things I can think of are - it's very hot and humid here and that's somehow affecting the bake, the recipe doesn't like my BeaterBlade maybe?, the oven temp is too high or too low (no access to oven thermometers here, so it's hard to check), or possibly (but unlikely) that the eggs are a totally different size? 

I have heard great things about Jennifer Bratko's recipe but I did not want to purchase without knowing the ingredients used. It's virtually impossible for me to get things like sour cream here, so I don't want to spend $20 on a book that I might not be able to use. 

Thanks for your help, you lovely bakers! 

3 replies
AAtKT Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AAtKT Posted 23 May 2017 , 10:09am
post #2 of 4

It does call for sour cream...

Though, I have substituted unflavored greek yogurt and it worked fine...  

It does also call for buttermilk, but I have substituted coconut and regular milk and it worked fine as well...