Any Ideas On How To Do Something Like This?

Decorating By Jessmar Updated 30 Jan 2007 , 3:28am by bethola

Jessmar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jessmar Posted 29 Jan 2007 , 11:39pm
post #1 of 9

I have had this picture saved in my favorites for a while - I love it! I don't know who made it but it is amazing! I found it in the galleries under 2006 Oklahoma Sugar Art Show.
Well, anyway, I am making a baby shower cake for a friend and I would love to try something similar to this. Does anyone have any suggestions? For example, what should I cover the cake with? I am guessing it is covered in fondant... but I am a beginner so I could be wrong. Do you think I could cover it in something different, like a poured ganache or buttercream or something, or wouldn't it turn out right? Also, what do you think was used to make it shiny (pearl dust, edible glitter, other?)? Any suggestions or tips are welcome! Thanks in advance!
-Jess
LL

8 replies
katy625 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
katy625 Posted 29 Jan 2007 , 11:56pm
post #2 of 9

I bet its just fondant and they carved the cake to make the moons then either lightly dusted with luster dust or airbrushed a tiny bit. The stars are most likey just fondant too. That cake is so adorable! I have 2 baby shower cakes to do. This gets my imagination running!

Jessmar Posted 30 Jan 2007 , 1:31am
post #3 of 9

Thanks for your helpful input katy625!

bethola Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bethola Posted 30 Jan 2007 , 1:44am
post #4 of 9

The teddy bears are from a mold (I have it) so they are probably fondant. I agree that all the other pieces are most likely fondant.

Depending on how good you are with BC you could do the cake in BC and smooth it, but, I don't know how the moon cut outs would look. It looks like they may be airbrushed, you could probably "paint" them with gel colors.

If you use fondant I think pearl luster dust would be the way to go! If BC I would use cake sparkles.