How To Dry Marshmallow Fondant Figure (Didn't Use Tylose Or Similar Hardener!)

Decorating By ellysmith Updated 28 Jan 2017 , 1:41pm by julia1812

ellysmith Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ellysmith Posted 26 Jan 2017 , 6:08pm
post #1 of 8

Hi wise ones,

This is my first time posting to this forum and my first time using  fondant! I have made a unicorn cake topper from homemade marshmallow fondant. However, the instructions I followed did not mention using gum paste or tylose in the mix to harden the figure. I did make the unicorn body first and left it overnight in the fridge to harden. However, it softened each time I took it out to add the limbs etc. The figure is now finished and has been in the refrigerator for about 36 hours. It is nice and hard while in the fridge but I think it will soften when I take it out to place it on the cake. I am insanely proud of it as my first effort and don't want it to droop or soften (particularly around the head area) on the day of my kid's party. I have read about using the oven, hair dyers etc but am really nervous of doing this and melting it!

I did add some tylose to the limb sections and used tylose mixture to stick the limbs, mane etc. on the main body but the main body of the unicorn itself  including the head are tylose free.

I live in Northern California so humidity is not  an issue and I have forced air central heating on at the moment (I thought of this as a drying option). 

The figure is 7 inches long, 4 inches high and 2 inches wide appprox.

What is the safest way to harden the figure? I have 48 hours left to dry it before the party. Any tips would be very gratefully appreciated!

Thanks!

Elaine 

7 replies
Bakerlady2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bakerlady2 Posted 27 Jan 2017 , 2:52am
post #2 of 8