Pricing Macarons

Business By Holiver Updated 20 Dec 2016 , 4:37pm by littlejewel

Holiver Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Holiver Posted 13 Dec 2016 , 11:38pm
post #1 of 16

I know there a lot of pricing questions on this forum and they have all be an AMAZING help. I am (thankfully) starting to feel more confident in my baking and in turn pricing abilities and then POW! I get a curve ball and asked by a friend to make 100 french macarons. 

I am very new to macarons and worried about pricing. The tower will be alongside a cutting cake which I have already costed up so that bits fine. It's just the little fiddly french macarons that I'm struggling with pricing.

Any ideas are welcome! thank you in advance!

15 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 14 Dec 2016 , 2:41am
post #2 of 16

Have you made macarons?  Not as easy as you might think.  Anyway I get $1.75 each.

Pastrybaglady Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pastrybaglady Posted 14 Dec 2016 , 4:03am
post #3 of 16

Macarons are very difficult - I am speaking as one who mostly has it down, but so many things can go wrong. If you don't make them regularly try practicing before you commit or you will be cursing the day you were born. I get $2 each.

leah_s Posted 14 Dec 2016 , 1:52pm
post #4 of 16

A year ago I was making a lot of macarons, and had it down.  Just made some last week, and I had a 50% fail rate.  Pastrybaglady is soo correct - you need to make a lot of them to understand them.

tennacvol Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tennacvol Posted 14 Dec 2016 , 3:40pm
post #5 of 16

I teach Baking & Pastry culinary school and macarons are one of my favorite things to teach.  Mostly because perfect macarons eluded me for so long as a student.  I could never make them perfectly.  After many trials and heartaches, I finally figured them out a few years ago and now  have near 100% success rate with them.