Help Please~ Ruffles & Glitter

Decorating By MrsTina Updated 7 Nov 2016 , 6:07pm by Naivohw

MrsTina Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MrsTina Posted 1 Nov 2016 , 3:05pm
post #1 of 26

Hello all! I have been asked to make this wedding cake which has a ruffle look I have never done before, can anyone please help me go about making & attaching this kind of ruffle? Also I will be doing the glitter bottom layer. What is the best way to cover the cake with such fine glitter? I will be using buttercream frosting as a base. Thanks in advance! [postimage id="5532" thumb="900"]

25 replies
Apti Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Apti Posted 1 Nov 2016 , 3:20pm
post #2 of 26

For the ruffles:   Roll out thin fondant and cut into 2" square pieces.   Put your fingertip in the middle of a square piece, and attach to the buttercream with a dot of buttercream.  Repeat with the remaining squares and put them close together so it looks like cake above.    If you were using fondant as a base for the ruffles, you would attach each piece with vodka or water or gum-glue. 

Here's another way using fondant strips: 

http://naomi-sugarspice.blogspot.com/2013/01/how-to-make-fondant-ruffles-for-cakes.html

For the edible gold sequins, you will need to make a LOT of gold gelatin sequins that are edible.  There are tutorials on cakecentral.com, but you'll have to search.   Here's a link to a youtube video:

http://www.karascouturecakes.com/edible-gelatin-sequins/

MrsTina Posted 2 Nov 2016 , 12:52am
post #3 of 26

Thanks for the info. Apti.  smiley.png I will be buying very fine, edible gold glitter. Any tips on how to apply that on buttercream?  

msalasek Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
msalasek Posted 2 Nov 2016 , 4:08am
post #4 of 26