Help I'm So Embarrassed My Bottom Tier Collapsed

Baking By Mammadukes Updated 25 Oct 2016 , 6:46pm by Mammadukes

Mammadukes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mammadukes Posted 24 Oct 2016 , 5:32pm
post #1 of 11

Hi I am not a professional baker, but I love to bake and do cakes as a hobby for friends and family, they sometimes  pay for supplies and some of my time,  yesterday I finished my first 3 tier cake, it was an Alice in Wonderland cake with characters all around the cake board it was for a friends sisters baby shower, there was also 4 dozen cupcakes and cookies each. I was very pleased with how the cake came out and she liked it when she picked it up. Today I get a text saying the bottom tier collapsed

10 replies
Mammadukes Posted 24 Oct 2016 , 5:41pm
post #2 of 11

Sorry that posted twice and only half of what I wrote showed up boy I'm having a BAD DAY LOL well I was saying she picked up the cake in a car not an Suv so it sat on a back seat not completely flat I wonder if that had something to do with what happened I've used the same cakes before with 2 tiers and never had a problem before there were straws and dowels in each tier, so I thought there was plenty of  support.   I'm so embarrassed I apologized and offered some money back was wondering if this has happened to anyone else or am I just that inexperienced  

Mammadukes Posted 24 Oct 2016 , 5:41pm
post #3 of 11

[postimage id="5449" thumb="900"]

remnant3333 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
remnant3333 Posted 24 Oct 2016 , 5:51pm
post #4 of 11

If she put cake on uneven car seat then yes this would cause cake to collapse!!  Never ever put a tiered cake on a car seat. Others here that are pretty experienced can give you information such as how to travel with tiered cakes.