Fondant Tips And Tricks Wanted!

Decorating By sykescakes Updated 17 Aug 2016 , 12:52am by CindiM

sykescakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sykescakes Posted 16 Aug 2016 , 3:54pm
post #1 of 6

Okay so I have only worked with fondant a few times but I've have the same problems each time. My first problem is that the powdered sugar or corn starch that I use to roll the fondant out always leave dusty white spots. So I try to 'dust' them off with a clean dry paint brush and it doesn't work. I then try to wet the brush a little and the fondant gets all tacky there and sometimes drys with a gloss on those places. My other problem is the fondand (homemade MMF and wilton brand) never seems to dry properly.

So I'm looking to see if any one has any tip or tricks to avoid these issues or any issues that come up when using fondant. I'm a hobby baker so I only use it now and again, but would love to get better at it.

5 replies
640Cake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
640Cake Posted 16 Aug 2016 , 4:19pm
post #2 of 6

My airbrush gun (empty) does the trick for me to remove any leftover dust.  I've also seen some use a hairdryer.  I don't like MMF, nor Wilton.  I use MFF - Michele Foster Fondant - recipe here on CC.  I also like modeling chocolate and will use that as much as possible.  

As far as drying - do you mean a covered cake or fondant decorations?

sykescakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sykescakes Posted 16 Aug 2016 , 4:41pm
post #3 of 6

Thanks for your responce! I have never seen the MFF, I'll have to try it out.

So the last cake I made I had trouble with both the decorations and the cake not drying. It was also very humid here but I have had trouble with that in the past.

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 16 Aug 2016 , 6:16pm
post #4 of 6