Gold Sequin Cake - To Luster Or To Spray?

Decorating By ReezieCakes Updated 18 Jul 2016 , 2:00pm by ReezieCakes

ReezieCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ReezieCakes Posted 28 Jun 2016 , 6:04pm
post #1 of 10

Hey y'all!

I'm making a 60th birthday cake for my mother in about 2 weeks.  I'm envisioning a gold sequin bottom layer, but I've never done that before.  What is the best way to go about this?  The bottom of the cake will only be a 10" round. 

I've read a few threads already and have some ideas and have watched videos, but still a little concerned. 

If you use luster, how much luster dust is needed?  I feel like that could get pricey?  It's about $5 for a tiny tube of the wilton luster dust, is one good enough?  If using a metallic spray, does it compromise the sequins in any way?  I'm afraid of them disintegrating  from being sprayed.

If you ahve any suggestions, I'm all ears!

Thanks!

9 replies
maybenot Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
maybenot Posted 28 Jun 2016 , 9:01pm
post #2 of 10

The sprays work fine.  They're alcohol bases, just like you'd use to mix the luster dust with to make paint.  Dry luster dust won't stick to the quins.

To get a good coating, I'd buy 2 cans of spray and do several light coats, drying in between, until I got the coverage I wanted.

meghanm Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
meghanm Posted 1 Jul 2016 , 1:09pm
post #3 of 10

@ReezieCakes ‍ you need to check out Rolkem Super Gold, it covers so well and it is pretty inexpensive. I purchased mine off etsy and the seller ships out the next day. I posted the link to the listing below!

https://www.etsy.com/listing/265015247/gold-metallic-super-dust-by-rolkem-gold?ga_order=most_relevant&ga_search_type=all&ga_view_type=gallery&ga_search_query=rolkem%20gold&ref=sr_gallery_1

soldiernurse Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
soldiernurse Posted 1 Jul 2016 , 3:40pm
post #4 of 10

I'm interested as well...