Cake Pricing

Baking By allgoodthings Updated 15 Jun 2016 , 11:31am by Marian64

allgoodthings Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
allgoodthings Posted 14 Jun 2016 , 3:09pm
post #1 of 21

[postimage id="4197" thumb="900"]Hello, I was approached by someone who saw one of the cakes I made for my children. They were insistent that they wanted my design. I've only bake for my children so they will have something special that I know we couldn't afford otherwise. Despite recommending other businesses in the area the person was insistent that I make the cake. The cake was three layer 8inch round fondant and buttercream with hand painted leopard hearts a fondant bow and the interior had leopard print as well. Recreating my cake is not an issue but I have not clue on how to price it! Even the fondant is made from scratch so it took quite some time to make. Helpful suggestions are welcome. Please don't be mean!! I'm not a professional; just a disabled stay at home mom.

20 replies
jgifford Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jgifford Posted 14 Jun 2016 , 3:24pm
post #2 of 21

She's insisting that you make it because she can't and she thinks it will be cheap since you don't do it as a business.

Add up all the ingredients and supplies, including paper towels and dish soap and gas for shopping, and estimate the amount of time it will take for everything. Be sure to include shopping and making the fondant.

Pay yourself well. Once you give her the total, she will probably decide to go with a grocery store cake. Don't back down from your price and for your own sake, learn to say NO.

jgifford Posted 14 Jun 2016 , 3:25pm
post #3 of 21

And that's an adorable cake! 

yjflores1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yjflores1 Posted 14 Jun 2016 , 3:27pm
post #4 of 21

Sounds like it might be 4 inch tall? I would charge No less than 60. :) add up all your ingredients and make sure your getting back what you invested then the time you invest it in aswell.