Would You Decorate A Store Bought Cake?

Decorating By Toshia7878 Updated 18 Apr 2016 , 5:43pm by Gingerlocks

Toshia7878 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Toshia7878 Posted 17 Apr 2016 , 12:17pm
post #1 of 5

I'm just a small home baker. I bake cheesecakes for one restaurant and have 1-2 wedding/shower/bday cakes per wknd. I have a HS acquaintance that has ordered 2x in about 4 yrs.  I would post cakes on facebook and she would say oh I can't wait for you to do my wedding cake!! Time went on with no official booking so I figured she booked someone else. No biggie. I hear from her yesterday that she would like me to do her cake 5/14. An already booked wknd for me. Then she drops this gem. The cake and cupcakes are coming from a grocery store and she just wants me to decorate.  I pry and it is bc the store won't do her Tiffany Blue. I'm a little annoyed, a little offended. What would you do?  2 wks notice to decorate 70 store cupcakes and 1 7in ruffle cake. Especially that I am throwing my sister's baby shower the same day that requires me to make a cake and food.  If it were a stranger I would probably say no flat out. Since I know her and I feel for her bridal stress I'm thinking of it. Ugh, ppl suck. I don't even know what to charge for some crap like that. Advice?

4 replies
kristykgs Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kristykgs Posted 18 Apr 2016 , 12:48am
post #2 of 5

That is some pickle you are in. I am trying to put myself in  your shoes by thinking if it was a close friend of mine what would I do. I would be hard pressed to put my name and reputation on a store bought cake. People at the wedding are going to taste that cake and think you did it. But you have to do what you think is right.

ladyhawke917 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ladyhawke917 Posted 18 Apr 2016 , 6:28am
post #3 of 5