Large Royal Icing Image On Fondant

Decorating By LozNewbie Updated 3 Jan 2016 , 8:48am by LozNewbie

LozNewbie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LozNewbie Posted 30 Dec 2015 , 4:25am
post #1 of 15

I'm a very beginner baker - doing my daughters 3rd birthday cake. She wants Dora... and I have a few questions please!!

1. Can I cover the rectangle cake in Fondant, and then pipe a dora face with Royal Icing (doing a Royal Icing border, then flooding the border with more royal icing to colour it in)?

2. If this is do-able... do I just use normal royal icing recipe like for cookies?

3. The party is at the beach (summer where I am)... how long before it all melts off and looks a mess?

4. Do I store it in the fridge overnight?

(I don't want to do dora's face in Fondant - Did Minnie Mouse last year - it was soo hard!)

Thanks so much!!!

*Last edited by LozNewbie on 30 Dec 2015 , 4:26am
14 replies
Cher2309b Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cher2309b Posted 30 Dec 2015 , 4:58am
post #2 of 15

It's certainly doable. As a "very beginner baker" have you made runouts before?  If this is a new technique for you I would recommend experimenting / practising before making the cake. Perhaps you could find an online tutorial or attend a class? If you're looking for an easy way of doing this you could have an edible print made of a picture and apply that to the cake. Then you could add some decoration that you're comfortable with.

Wishing you luck,

Cher

*Last edited by Cher2309b on 30 Dec 2015 , 5:00am
LozNewbie Posted 30 Dec 2015 , 6:59am
post #3 of 15

Thanks Cher for your help!

I have made Royal Icing once... it was a disaster... poured off the side of the cookies satisfied.pngClearly too runny!

Unfortunately I won't have time to practice... my daughter is around and I have a 6wk old to manage as well... so this is going to be a "believe in yourself" moment! Worst case scenario if it looks awful I can go buy a Dora figurine and plonk it on a new cake.