Cupcake Pricing Debate

Business By uharugger Updated 13 Mar 2016 , 5:44pm by costumeczar

uharugger Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
uharugger Posted 1 Dec 2015 , 10:12pm
post #1 of 7

I know pricing is dependent on location/demographic etc but I can't understand how some home bakers make a profit when it seems like they are charging almost nothing for their cupcakes. I'm a home baker as well. I charge $2.50 per cupcake for buttercream and $3.50 for fondant and it will go up from there depending on how elaborate the design is. I did start at $1.50 per cupcake when I started my business earlier this year but quickly realized there was no way I was going to make a profit for the amount of work I was putting in, so I upped my prices and people have seemed fine with it for the most part.

A popular baker/cake decorator in my area just listed her holiday flavor cupcakes. The majority of the cupcakes are $1.25 each and some are $1.50 each. I know my material (ingredients & cupcake liners) per cupcake is a minimum .50 cents with my most basic recipe. I try to buy in bulk to keep my costs down but I don't see how they are making any profit when you add in electric, gas, water, time etc. I only get 1-3 cake/cupcake orders per week. I would rather make 1-3 orders per week and make a profit then work crazy hours and barely break even. 

People tell me regularly that my prices aren't outrageous considering the quality of my work, until recently. I did a small sample booth last week and people have been inquiring about getting cakes/cupcakes and a few have said I was way out of their price range. But when you want something to feed 400 people it isn't going to be cheap.

I guess I am second guessing my pricing and wanted to see what other have to say about this topic. I know this has been an ongoing issue in the cottage food baking world but this is the first time I have run into this myself.

6 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile