Rolled Fondant Questions

Sugar Work By CAKEMASTER1A Updated 19 Aug 2015 , 9:58am by Janine D

CAKEMASTER1A Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CAKEMASTER1A Posted 31 Jul 2015 , 3:30pm
post #1 of 11

I'VE BEEN USING THE SATIN ICE BRAND FOR TWO YEARS HASN'T REALLY BEEN WORKING OUT IT'S BEEN CRACKING AND THE TASTE SEEMS TO OFF AM TRULY DISAPPOINTED. WANTED TO KNOW IF ANY ONE HEARD OF THIS ROLLED FONDANT CASELLA FOODS IS SELLING PASTA DAMA PWR I HEARD ITS AWESOME HAS ANY ONE USED IT YET

10 replies
Norcalhiker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Norcalhiker Posted 12 Aug 2015 , 5:28am
post #2 of 11

No, but I just completed a multi-day cake workshop where we used Massa Ticino Carma.  I'm not a fondant person, but I was very impressed with this fondant.  It tastes good and it works beautifully.  Satin Ice was available as well, but none of the participants used the Satin Ice for the reasons you describe. One participant said she used Satin Ice regularly in her business and encountered the same problems you describe. The Massa had none of those issues. 

I had a large portion left, so I wrapped it in plastic and put it in a ziploc bag.  It sat on my counter for 2 weeks. Today I played with it on a dummie. To my astonishment it rolled out beautifully--multiple times.  I even tossed it in my kitchenaid with a dough hook, then rolled it out to see if I ruined it.  Still rolled and draped beautifully...so I decided to keep it for more practice.

I will warn you the stuff isn't cheap.  But you can always offer it to clients as an option with an up-charge.

Most of the high end pastry chefs in my area use it.  They say it's worth it.  We did a taste test and everyone thought it tasted remarkable better than the Satin Ice.  

Shockolata Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Shockolata Posted 13 Aug 2015 , 12:26am
post #3 of 11