Newbie Self Taught Decorator Pricing?!?

Decorating By Hostet25 Updated 2 Aug 2015 , 9:18pm by OCakes

Hostet25 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Hostet25 Posted 29 Jul 2015 , 12:27am
post #1 of 14

Hi I'm a newer cake decorator and I've been making cakes for the past year. I've taught myself everything and I've learned something new every cake. For the most part I've made most of my cakes for friends and family members and recently many coworkers have asked to pay me to make them cakes. I'm my worst critic and I knit pick at everything so I've had a hard time charging people an amount where I profit. I think to myself they know I'm not a professional so I can't charge professional prices...and if any part of the cake has the slightest flaw I feel like it wasn't worth what I charged! Here's a few pics of some of my cakes....would love some 55b81ddf747be.jpeg55b81de06a297.jpeg55b81de1885c6.jpeghonest feedback and any recommendations on prices would be great!  55b81de278134.jpeg55b81de2dca29.jpeg55b81de370476.jpeg

13 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 29 Jul 2015 , 12:38am
post #2 of 14

you need to charge what that would cost -- the same or a little more -- from your local best bakery -- 

also you want to make sure you are in compliance with all your local rules & regulations for selling food -- 

best to you

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 29 Jul 2015 , 12:42am
post #3 of 14

your work is good -- you need to tighten up a few things like you already know/said  -- and you'll also want to check out the copyright rules/laws --

good stuff, hostet

OCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
OCakes Posted 29 Jul 2015 , 12:50am
post #4 of 14