People Say I Charge Too Much?!?

Business By Island girl Updated 25 Mar 2015 , 5:34pm by cakesbycathy

Island girl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Island girl Posted 23 Mar 2015 , 11:57pm
post #1 of 10

Hi,

I wanted to ask about this. I know it's been talked about before but I really don't think I'm crazy and charging too much but I am a hobby baker, so maybe I am. But if I cut my prices any lower, I won't even make a profit. I use all high end ingredients and sweetex, so my costs are probably higher than most. However, I do think I'm still getting a good deal on my costs. For my 50lb box of sweetex I paid $116 including shipping. I don't think that's too bad. Anyway.... I'm in the outskirts/ suburbs of Houston and these are the 3 cakes I've been asked to make. All 3 agreed on price and then when it came down to deposit time, they all backed out. The reasons for all three was that they found someone to do it cheaper.

I don't want to be known as the cheap cake lady, but I also don't want to be the expensive lady either and not get orders. I just don't see how after all costs me making $20-60 per cake is overcharging!

The colon cake was requested by a gastroenterologist and only needed it for 5-6 servings. Well, obviously I charged for what I had to make and carve away too and the fondant. I quoted $70.

The mickey cake with a smash cake would be buttercream with fondant decorations. I quoted $120.

The toilet cake I would almost make no profit, and I quoted $100.

Am I charging too much or are people just actually charging too little????

Thanks!

9 replies
Psyched baker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Psyched baker Posted 24 Mar 2015 , 1:23am
post #5 of 10

If anything, I think you aren't charging enough! If you are not in desperate need of the money then stick to your standards.