Dairy Issues

Baking By gigiel Updated 3 Feb 2015 , 8:28pm by craftybanana

gigiel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gigiel Posted 3 Feb 2015 , 7:31pm
post #1 of 4

Does anybody know if the Jello instant pudding mixes include dairy? I have read the list of ingredients & will include that list here. The bride is extremely allergic to any dairy. Do any of you foodies out there know if it includes dairy, based on the attached pic of list of ingredients? No idea if some of the things listed on here are dairy or not. Any help appreciated so much!

3 replies
Jedi Knight Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jedi Knight Posted 3 Feb 2015 , 7:52pm
post #2 of 4

AIf she's that allergic you should turn down the order.

If you usually use dairy you need a disclaimer that there can be trace amounts in any product.

Why in the world does she want packaged chemical pudding for a wedding dessert? Why not make real pudding from scratch? It's not hard - just a little more time-consuming.

gigiel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
gigiel Posted 3 Feb 2015 , 8:13pm
post #3 of 4

Just overviewed all recipes & only found TWO cakes & TWO fillings that are dairy free. Did not realize butter is dairy at first!  Wanted to be certain, her allergens of course come before making a sale. I offered the choices & she declined. Her wedding is in June, she had 2 other options, I told her to chose one & book NOW!!! Thanks Jedi Knight! (love the name)                                             

 [I have a recipe that incl  inst pudding mix...true story.]                                                                                Disclaimer: *There ARE worse things than inst. pudding mix, however I do generally agree with scratch theory completely!!!;-D

craftybanana Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
craftybanana Posted 3 Feb 2015 , 8:26pm
post #4 of 4

A search of the forums turned up this thread http://www.cakecentral.com/t/634970/daughter-has-dairy-allergy-help

Someone on that thread also said that Duncan Hines are dairy free. Check the box of ingredients or call the company to find out for sure. Like someone else said, if she's allergic to trace amounts, better to not do it.


Also, look here: http://www.veggieboards.com/forum/21-general-food-discussions/118260-why-can-t-i-sub-soy-almond-milk-instant-pudding.html they talk about the woes of not being able to use milk substitutes with instant pudding.


As for other recipes, just look for Vegan recipes and that should point you in the right direction. I'm not vegan, but my inlaws are headed that way so I'm trying substitutes for eggs and milk (her substitutes have been awful!, lols).


edited to add: ingredients to look for would be: milk, whey, casein & caseinates,Hydrolysates and more, check here for a list: http://www.kidswithfoodallergies.org/resourcespre.php?id=37

Quote by @%username% on %date%