Going Legal- Need Opinion On Name

Decorating By javajammer Updated 5 Jan 2015 , 4:06pm by julia1812

javajammer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
javajammer Posted 4 Jan 2015 , 5:40pm
post #1 of 14

I've been a hobbyist for quite sometime and have made the big decision to go legal. I know a business name is a huge factor and would love any input. I want my name to sound professional and not cutesy. I respect the opinion of fellow cake decorators, since we know how the business goes. Here are a few prospective ideas. I would love any suggestions. I am located in the south.

Artistic Cake Design

Artisan Cake Design

Sweet Cake Design

Melody's Cake Design

13 replies
melmar02 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
melmar02 Posted 4 Jan 2015 , 6:55pm
post #2 of 14

I like Artisan better than Artistic for some reason - idk, maybe because Artisan Cake Company is a business that I follow. I like Sweet Cake Design too, but I'm registered as Sweet By Design in my county, so I'm biased to the "Sweet" I think. I don't think you can go wrong with any of those. None of them sound cutesy to me.

Have you checked other registered business names in your area? Not just who is online or in the phone book, but actual DBAs/assumed names with your county? In Texas, at least in my county, you can search assumed names on the county website. With so many home bakeries, you may want to double check what you want it available.

madcobbler Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
madcobbler Posted 4 Jan 2015 , 7:52pm
post #3 of 14

The first 3 suggestions seem too generic in my opinion. How about Sweet Melody's Custom Cakes ?! I wish you well  with your business. Associating a color scheme with your business that you'll use on business cards, brochures, and your website is something to consider as well.

javajammer Posted 4 Jan 2015 , 7:59pm
post #4 of 14

Yes, I checked with my county and State and they are all available.

javajammer Posted 4 Jan 2015 , 8:00pm
post #5 of 14

Quote: