Need Help Pricing

Decorating By Cjbeeth Updated 4 Jan 2015 , 4:30am by julia1812

Cjbeeth Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cjbeeth Posted 3 Jan 2015 , 6:13pm
post #1 of 7

A[ATTACHMENT=2062]image.jpg (123k. jpg file)[/ATTACHMENT]

I have been asked to make a cake similar to this. I would use 8,6,4 inch pans. I am so bad at pricing, I always way undersell myself. Costs of materials to me would be about 30-40 (though I would not be using all of the fondant that I would buy). I can only guess how long it would take me to roll, cut, assemble all the fondant pieces. I would guess 4 hours? I am by no means a professional, so these things can take me a long time. I was leaning towards 80-90. On one hand I feel like this is a lot of money, but then on the other I feel like maybe this is low. I am so bad at this, help please?

6 replies
julia1812 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
julia1812 Posted 3 Jan 2015 , 6:41pm
post #2 of 7

AIf this is what you are happy with...ask for the price. It's not your job to twist your brain if other people can afford it

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 3 Jan 2015 , 6:41pm
post #3 of 7

you are correct you are way low -- 40 servings give or take and $2.00 per serving is way way low -- that cake should be in the neighborhood of $5 per serving minimum not to mention the copyright thing --

Jedi Knight Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jedi Knight Posted 3 Jan 2015 , 9:32pm
post #4 of 7

AHoly crap.

You are going to charge $80 for this cake. Minus your ingredients (have you added up everything - including all ingredients - including even that half teaspoon salt, and all non-edibles such as boards and boxes and supports and such?).