Fondant Drying Out-Help Pls

Decorating By MrsHoff Updated 6 Dec 2014 , 12:19am by CindiM

MrsHoff Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MrsHoff Posted 4 Dec 2014 , 11:29pm
post #1 of 2

AHi! I'm fairly new to cake decorating and am having an issue with elephant skinning and cracking. I am using satin ice fondant. I am colouring it from white, and am wondering if the amount of kneading I have to do while colouring (using gel colours) could be causing it? I do use powdered sugar to keep it from being sticky, which I think is happening from having hot hands and from warming weather. I am in western Australia.

I have read that spritzing with water and folding it in when kneading can help keep it moist and that using shortening when rolling out can help. My concern is that I have used powdered sugar quit a bit while colouring the fondant... and it's for my daughters first birthday next week. Can anyone tell me if that will cause elephant skinning and cracking or will spritzing and using shortening when Rolling out fix that? Any hints help or tricks would be greatly appreciated.

1 reply
CindiM Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CindiM Posted 6 Dec 2014 , 12:19am
post #2 of 2

Hi,

This is what works for me.

First,

elephant skin is the dry outer surface of your fondant.  You have to keep the fondant covered at all times or it will get dry and crack.  I double wrap my fondant, in plastic wrap and put it back in the bucket.  What works for me, is a little shortening on my hands and I knead the fondant quickly to get it soft again.  

This is not recommended, but I have done it.  You can also microwave it for 5 seconds.  I only have my fondant out when I am kneading or rolling otherwise it is covered. 

Second to color fondant: