Frustrated! Craigslist Ad..

Business By AileenGP Updated 18 Nov 2014 , 10:04pm by FioreCakes

AileenGP Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AileenGP Posted 17 Nov 2014 , 10:20pm
post #1 of 6

Perusing around craigslist in my area, I thought I'd type in "cakes" to see if anyone advertised on it..

Then I clicked on a listing for "Professional Cake Decorator" and this is what the text says:

Quote:
I am a professional cake baker and decorator who works from home. I design and create beautifully crafted cakes for all occasions. I am able to produce the cakes at a fraction of the cost of a professional bakery. See my facebook page for examples of my work. You can contact me via the craigslist link or the facebook site. All cakes are quoted individually, please do not email asking how much my cakes cost. We will work together to come up with a cake design and then I will quote you a price. 

https:// www. facebook .com/pages/xxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Single tiered cakes starting at just $20! 
Two tiered cakes start at $60!

I xxxed out her website facebook site because I didn't want it to be a bashing or anything - but what frustrates me is that she is purposely and clearly undercutting other custom cake businesses/bakeries. 

Really?! $20 for a single cake!?!? $60 for a two tiered cake?? ..and the cakes she's showing are all fondant covered.

Now I know what a caller was talking about yesterday:

Caller: I wanted to order a two layer birthday cake. (I'm assuming two tiers).

Me: Great! Just to let you know my two tiered cakes start at $140. (I always do this to screen out people that don't have it in their budget so I don't waste time).

Caller: Oh..... Well there's a lady that said she can do it for $60.

Me: Oh okay, well that's an amazing price and I think you should take advantage of that!

Caller: But I want you to make the cake because I like your cakes better.