Hi! I'm Emma. I'm New To Cake Central.

Lounge By DeliciousEmma Updated 12 Sep 2014 , 12:12am by DeliciousEmma

DeliciousEmma Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
DeliciousEmma Posted 15 Jul 2014 , 1:11am
post #1 of 26

Hi! I'm Emma. I'm new to Cake Central.

I should say straight away that I'm not a cake decorator.

So what am I doing here? I'm a baker running a new small business providing cakes, slices, biscuits (cookies) etc to cafes, restaurants, clubs and tourist attractions in the coastal tourist town I live in, in Australia. I came across cake central during my research, especially in regards to pricing. Your forums kept popping up in searches and were really informative.

As far as cake decorating goes, I'm really keen to learn and I know that is something that will take hundreds of hours of practice and probably 5 years to a decade before I'd be up to professional standards. I'd like to grow my skills outside of what I can do now in my business and cake decorating would be part of that, first as a hobby. I've seen some of the threads about undercutting and decorators not up to standard selling cakes and that's definitely not my intention. I know this is hard work and some of you are so skilled! It blows me away!

I thought I'd introduce myself. I'm still finding my way around this site. I have a few questions.

1. How do groups work? I can't seem to get to find them. Maybe because I'm new my posts are moderated?

2. Does anyone else run a business like mine? Could you recommend any other sites or forums that are relevant and helpful?

I looks forward to getting to know you!

25 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 17 Jul 2014 , 3:43pm
post #2 of 26

hi emma -- cake decorating is not as daunting as it may seem -- find a picture of a cake you would like to make and just take it step by step-- gathering equipment and practicing skills -- you'll be there in no time --

hope you enjoy yourself here on cc