Cake Dumies (Fake), I Need Help !

Decorating By soledad Updated 26 Jun 2014 , 5:14am by soledad

soledad Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
soledad Posted 15 Jun 2014 , 3:35am
post #1 of 30

CC friends, I am in big trouble!!!!:shock: I need your help, PLEASE!

I am a hobby baker, I have never made a wedding cake, much less a dummy cake! I have always wanted to make one, but did not have the guts! Now I got into the middle of a wedding party and in charge of making the wedding cake!!!:cry::cry:I never offer to make it, I do not know how I got into it, please do not ask, because I do not know!! This is the cake my friend's son wants, for June 21st. and here is also the dummy cakes. Please I need  Help!! I already know the following" A.- No sharp edges, because might tear the fondant.B.- Use thicker fondant than usual ( so I have already softened the edges, do not know if I did it enough.Will know soon enough) C.-To cover dummies ..put crisco all over the dummy cake in order for the fondant to adhere. D.- paste one cake with the next with buttercream ( maybe a center dowel?? Have never done this either:shock:) i have seen tutorials and read post on the subject, but have not been able to adquire confidence, yet! Any tips, or input of any kind will be very much appreciated!

This photo was given to me by my friend , she expects to get a fake cake like this!!:cry:  

She has bought enough marshmallow, powder sugar.crisco and  black pearls from Wilton which looks gray! I spray it with  black Wilton spray but still looks gray! I bought the very new Wilton mold which has swirls for the round dummies( I got Lucky on this!) Big question.... at what time do I start decorating, immediately after covering or how long after???? I will be setting up at "her place on the beach.So each tier will    be decorated. pls anything else I should know???? Thank you in advance! Sorry for the lenght of post!  CIAO  Soledad

29 replies
shannonann Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile