Cake Leveling..

Decorating By Jenna1588 Updated 14 May 2014 , 7:07pm by cakegrandma

Jenna1588 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jenna1588 Posted 14 May 2014 , 3:07pm
post #1 of 6

Hi,

Last 2 cakes I've made and covered in fondant have been wonky, (attached pictures) its really annoying for me, although I'm only a hobby baker, I like them to look good. 

Any ideas why this is happening? I've done quite a few cakes and they have been perfect.. Would it be a good idea to buy a leveler and sort it out once I've sandwiched the cakes together or before? My cakes seem to be level before the filling. Its frustrating! Like a muppet I've only noticed after I've covered the cakes then its too late!

Any advice would be great.. Thanks! :)

5 replies
ellavanilla Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ellavanilla Posted 14 May 2014 , 3:26pm
post #2 of 6

level and seems level are two different things, especially when you have a simple cake, that shows every flaw.

get a small level, just like carpenters use, and put it on your cake as you are building it. don't forget that it has to be level on the sides too. then you have to pop the cake in the fridge to let it set up/settle.

leveling after building will be a huge headache. while you may be able to make small adjustments, you may end up carving your cake down to nothing. 

remnant3333 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
remnant3333 Posted 14 May 2014 , 3:37pm
post #3 of 6

A leveler would be a good idea. I have also heard of people that once they cut their cake they put two toothpicks on each layer that has been cut one toothpick right above the other toothpick. Then once they put icing or filling they sandwich back the layers so that the two toothpicks are right above each other.