Any Tips For The Newbie? Got Job At Custom Cake Shop And Nervous

Lounge By sweetcravings Updated 12 May 2014 , 11:25pm by sweetcravings

sweetcravings Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetcravings Posted 12 May 2014 , 4:25pm
post #1 of 6

Hi everyone,

I just got a job at a nearby small custom bakeshop and start in a few days. I've been out of the workforce for many years and am mostly self taught.  I am so nervous that i will forget everything i know or do something that will irritate the other workers.  For those of you who work in a small bakeshop any tips for the newbie?

5 replies
enga Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
enga Posted 12 May 2014 , 4:50pm
post #2 of 6

First off, congratulations!  Keep a positive attitude, take your time and don't be afraid to ask for help if you don't understand something. You've done the hard part which is to get hired, they must have seen some potential.  And remember that Rome wasn't built in a day, lol.

When I first started out in a bakery I was so nervous (didn't know much of anything) but they were really nice and accommodating. After a couple of weeks, I took to it like a duck to water.

You will be just fine ;-D 

-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 12 May 2014 , 4:54pm
post #3 of 6

hmm, the pecking order is very important--egos typically run high to very high even though it may not appear that way initially-- so the least ego you have the better you'll be -- be prepared to do things their way even though you've never done it that way before and even though your way might be better -- i would avoid any kind of 'me-teach-you' kind of events  -- even if goes smoothly at the time it can and will be held against you-- there's plenty of time for 'sharing' in a few months when you get accustomed to everyone--

you want to appear valuable to the owner but kinda dumb to fellow decorators sort of --so forgetting what you know kinda sorta might be a blessing -- :-D