Please Help Me To Price The Cake

Business By Jeevaabr Updated 19 Mar 2014 , 12:12am by Apti

Jeevaabr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Jeevaabr Posted 13 Mar 2014 , 5:31pm
post #1 of 57

I recently started my own Cake Decorating business at home, I’m new at this and I’m curious about pricing and how much to charge my customers.I have request for a birthday cake.I dont know how to price this cake.The cake is a 3 tire cake with14",10" and 6" and the decoration as it is on the attached cake,three layers with 3 different flavors.Please help me on this :-)

56 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 13 Mar 2014 , 5:51pm
post #2 of 57

This question has been asked hundreds of times on here.  Did you do a search?

JennaGee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JennaGee Posted 13 Mar 2014 , 5:58pm
post #3 of 57

Hi! Welcome to CC.

The best way to find the charge for this cake is to Figure out the costs of your ingredients and hourly rate for a regular recipe of cake, add it all up, divide it by the number of servings in that recipe and you will have your cost per serving.

After that consider how many servings this cake serves and multiply that number by your serving size. That will most likely give you your base price. Then, add on according to how much time it takes to produce the gumpaste flowers (including the cost of materials ie. cake boards, base, ribbon, external fondant) multiplied by your hourly rate.  

Don't forget to do this for each flavor if your ingredient  cost changes. And also count delivery charge if this is a business transaction. 

Basically, this is something you will need to do for yourself because most  bakers can quote a 3 tiered cake from anywhere between $300 and $1000 depending on ingredients and serving size!

hollysirena Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
hollysirena Posted 13 Mar 2014 , 6:02pm
post #4 of 57