Canadian Licensed Kitchen Help

Business By mekibakes Updated 25 Jan 2014 , 11:46pm by glow

mekibakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mekibakes Posted 11 Jan 2014 , 8:57am
post #1 of 26

AHey everyone, wondering if any one here from alberta or anywhere in canada that has a licensed home kitchen? Im so confused about our laws here and would like to know a few things and get some ideas from you guys, hopefully make a cake friend too - im a cakecentral newbie so please feel free to drop me a line and wish me luck! Anyways here are my questions: ---Called the local health services and they said i need to have commercial equipment?! Is this for real? A commercial oven alone will cost more then $5g's doesnt it?? Well if this is the case i am so discouraged now :( ---where did you guys begin when you were planning your home based cake decorating biz? ---can you guys show me pictures of your licensed kitchen so i can get some ideas please? Pretty please?

Please help a confused chickie here! Hope to hear from you guys soon!! Thanks a bunch!

25 replies
scrumdiddlycakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
scrumdiddlycakes Posted 11 Jan 2014 , 10:36am
post #2 of 26

AI used to in BC, I have since moved and don't know how much the rules have changed, or how they differ between provinces. I had to have a proper commercial kitchen, complete with commercial equipment, a separate entrance, really all the same standards that would apply to a restaurant kitchen. Breaking those rules, and working from home illegally was an automatic $10k fine, first time offence. I know a few people that got hit with it. like I said though, this was a few years back, rules change, your local health dept is the best resource you have! I'd probably look into renting an already equipped kitchen, if possible. I thought Alberta was a little more lenient than my area, the health dept should be able to supply you with a full list of rules and regulations though.