Help: Get Fondant Neat On The Cake

Decorating By dreamycakes1 Updated 13 Jan 2014 , 2:45am by dreamycakes1

dreamycakes1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dreamycakes1 Posted 29 Dec 2013 , 1:51am
post #1 of 12

Hi All,

I made several cakes and I'm still struggling to get neat work on the cake covering with fondant. When I cover the fondant, I rolled fondant and cover using the roller then smooth with my hand and then use the smoother (cake baked and covered with butter icing. Tried put the cake inside the refrigerator and with it too). initially it looks good. after 2 hours I see the fondant coming off from the cake and lots of air stuck there. Even though I remove the air and smooth it again, another 2 hrs later the fondant is coming off as before. Is there any technic to do the fondant stuck on the cake?   

Please help 

Thanks..

11 replies
jt332211 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jt332211 Posted 29 Dec 2013 , 3:58am
post #2 of 12

AHi, I'm no expert, but my mother-in-law was, and she would always paint cakes with warm apricot jam then apply fondant. Never butter icing.

IAmPamCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
IAmPamCakes Posted 29 Dec 2013 , 3:59am
post #3 of 12

AAre you using a crusting buttercream? If so, are you moistening it before applying fondant? The fondant needs a damp surface to cling to. Or- are you letting your cake settle after filling and crumb coating?

Smckinney07 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Smckinney07 Posted 29 Dec 2013 , 4:52pm
post #4 of 12

AFirst you should make sure your icing is smooth to begin with, personally I've never had much luck with the American or 'crusting' BC I prefer to use ganache or a Meringue BC (Italian, Swiss, or French).

Your icing could have bubbles trapped inside as well-there's a great article on ACakeToRemember(s) blog-I will try to find it and post.

Did you let your cakes settle before covering? This can cause problems with buldging/sagging fondant.