Vegan Cake

Decorating By nikki54321 Updated 28 Nov 2013 , 11:09pm by NYAcupcake

nikki54321 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
nikki54321 Posted 28 Nov 2013 , 8:43pm
post #1 of 6

hi everyone, 


iv been asked to make a vegan cake so no animal products. iv never done a cake thats vegan before but found a great recipe online now im wondering how to make the buttercream and fondant.


I usually use the fondant pre bought and it does say on packet suitable for vegetarians but it doesnt say anything about vegans. what would be in it thats not suitable for vegans?


For the buttercream thought i might use trex in uk (shortening)  but have never used this before and have only ever used butter. do i use the trex on its own with sugar and vanilla and would this be ok for the filling with jam also. 


i will be thankful for any info 




5 replies
h0mesweeth0me Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
h0mesweeth0me Posted 28 Nov 2013 , 9:45pm
post #2 of 6

AVegan is no animal by-products which usually include eggs and dairy, although individuals may vary on their interpretation of the term. I would definitely consult with the client on my ingredient lists. Most ahortenings and marguerites and vegetable based products would be ok. Jam filling sounds excellent too, but gives a different flavour and feel to your cake. I have substituted mazola margarine for butter in buttercream (amerrcan buttercream, no eggs) with a lot of success as well. It just doesn't firm up in the fridge as niclely as buttercream and doesn't have that awesome butter flavour. But at least it is vegan. Good luck!

MsGF Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MsGF Posted 28 Nov 2013 , 9:59pm
post #3 of 6

If your fondant has gelatin in it than it's not vegan.  Gelatin is made by boiling animal bones. 


Also sugar that is whitened by using bone char isn't vegan either.  So check your icing sugar.  You may need to contact the company or check their website.

h0mesweeth0me Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
h0mesweeth0me Posted 28 Nov 2013 , 10:13pm
post #4 of 6

AMany fondants and gelatins are vegetarian these days, but I agree with the advice to check ingredients. It's usually on the packaging itself, or on a website.

jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 28 Nov 2013 , 10:17pm
post #5 of 6

ASatin Ice fondant is vegan. For vegan BC we use Sweetex Z high ratio shortening (most shortening should be vegan), Earth Balance soy-based margarine, and beet sugar (which is not processed with bone char).

NYAcupcake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
NYAcupcake Posted 28 Nov 2013 , 11:09pm
post #6 of 6

I made about half of my cupcakes and cakes vegan. I use Satin Ice fondant. I also have a buttercream recipe that I use that people go NUTS over. I am not kidding...vegans and carnivores LOVE it. It is from the book VEGAN CUPCAKES TAKE OVER THE WORLD. You can find it here:

Quote by @%username% on %date%