Sweating Fondant

Decorating By Nelly22 Updated 29 Oct 2013 , 2:34am by Nelly22

Nelly22 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Nelly22 Posted 25 Oct 2013 , 4:54pm
post #1 of 7

Hello everyone,

I make cakes as my new hubby however I have encountered a few problems. I crumb coated my cake with betty crocker vanilla icing and then used satic iced fondant to cover the cakes my fondant teared a few places n had fine cracks n even air bubbles..I placed it in the fridge n when I took it out it looks like the cake had shrunk n when I left it outside it started sweating n running...Anyone can say where I went wrong im not a professional cake maker...

thanks..:smile:

6 replies
urbangrl2007 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
urbangrl2007 Posted 26 Oct 2013 , 3:23pm
post #2 of 7

Well the sweating fondant was most likely from when you took it out of the fridge and put it on the counter. We use that fondant where I work, and we've noticed that it has issues with sweating. Not fun. 

As for the tearing, it could be that it's too thick, or maybe even too thin. You have to play around with it to find the thickness that works. With air bubbles, I keep small pearl head pins in my cake box so I can pop them. I'll put a pin (one of the small sewing ones) into the bubble from the side, take it out then press out the air. That way the hole isn't noticeable from the pin.

The cake won't necessarily 'shrink' once you put fondant on, but it will settle, if that's what you meant. The weight of the fondant (that's one reason I like to try to keep it thin) will cause the cake to settle, making the cake look bulged on the sides. I've found a couple solutions to that on here, just from reading through the forums. 

Practice makes perfect!

Good luck with your new hobby!

blwilley Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
blwilley Posted 28 Oct 2013 , 6:12pm
post #3 of 7