Copyright Question *barbie

Decorating By Cakespirations Updated 7 Oct 2013 , 2:41pm by BatterUpCake

Cakespirations Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakespirations Posted 7 Oct 2013 , 12:27pm
post #1 of 7

AI am making a new cake display. I want to gear some of the cakes to kids. I thought I would put a barbie dress cake in it. I DO NOT sell the barbie doll. Parents have to provide them. But for display sake I would use the barbie, if I put a sign that states I do not sell the barbie, only the dress part of the cake, does that cover me?

I googled this and found it is the doll I cannot sell, but I can use a toy or item on a cake that a parent supplies.

Any thoughts?

6 replies
Norasmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Norasmom Posted 7 Oct 2013 , 12:38pm
post #2 of 7

I'm not a lawyer, but since the Barbie was purchased, you aren't copying it....Mattel has gotten their cut.

Norasmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Norasmom Posted 7 Oct 2013 , 12:39pm
post #3 of 7

I did the same with an Ariel doll.

SecretAgentCakeBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SecretAgentCakeBaker Posted 7 Oct 2013 , 12:43pm
post #4 of 7

ALast night I read an article by Cake Boss software, they interviewed an intellectual property attorney. I believe #11 in their interview may answer your question. http://www.cakeboss.com/CopyrightCakes.aspx

Cakespirations Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakespirations Posted 7 Oct 2013 , 2:15pm
post #5 of 7

AAwesome responses! Thanks :) I am still researching it a little but I am Feeling a bit better about if I would get sued or not.

morganchampagne Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
morganchampagne Posted 7 Oct 2013 , 2:33pm
post #6 of 7

AI would think that you are fine. You aren't recreating a Barbie. And you aren't selling them. So as long as you get the Barbie from a place you should be fine. I don't think they really care what you do with the Barbie. They just don't want you recreating them