Any Ideas On How To Make This Construction Checkerboard?

Decorating By Lindasicings Updated 30 Oct 2013 , 5:57am by Sweety Grane

Lindasicings Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Lindasicings Posted 5 Oct 2013 , 11:45pm
post #1 of 14

I am planning to make this black and yellow construction cake.

I have been reading and figured I would make a checkerboard cake with manilla folder rings and then try to tilt them when removing them.  Has anyone else done this effect? Any ideas on flavors?  I thought chocolate and yellow cake.

13 replies
Smckinney07 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Smckinney07 Posted 5 Oct 2013 , 11:51pm
post #2 of 14

AHere's a tutorial, you'd need to make an extra circle if you want the look above.

http://www.cookiemadness.net/2011/02/checkerboard-cake/

mfeagan Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mfeagan Posted 5 Oct 2013 , 11:51pm
post #3 of 14

I have never done that effect in a cake before. There are some bakers who underbake cakes to made designs like hearts and flowers inside their cakes. I would think that part would be dry by the time the rest of the cake was done. 

I think you're on the right track for your idea of how to do it! Let us know how it turns out! I would love to know! 

IowaBaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
IowaBaker Posted 6 Oct 2013 , 3:20am
post #4 of 14

I think the one pictured was done by baking a yellow cake and a dark chocolate cake, cutting the baked cake, and reassembling it. Look at the point of the wedge of cake and how it looks like there are a couple slanted pieces missing. With the method 

. Note at the end of the video that when the cake was cut, the center ring did not come out with the rest of the slice, it stayed in the middle of the cake. Since the batter rings don't bake into each other, I think the rings should have had frosting between them in addition to between the layers.