Does This Happen To Any Of Y'all?

Lounge By morganchampagne Updated 28 Oct 2013 , 4:06pm by Sassyzan

morganchampagne Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
morganchampagne Posted 2 Oct 2013 , 3:47am
post #1 of 29

ASo I'm in pastry school. After I graduated from college in May, I jumped straight back in there. Of course I do have my cake business on the side.

I work REALLY hard. I mean really hard. I have been blessed with success, I know not everybody experiences it. But here's the thing...family/friends/associates always want me to "show" them things.

People who are hobby bakers. They all ask can they come help out for a day. Can they come learn. I love to bake! Can I come help? I find it really annoying. Extremely.

Is this just what comes along with it? I feel kind of bratty not wanting to help, but I'm not running a teaching program. This is my business. Idk...I feel conflicted lol. What do you guys think.

28 replies
jason_kraft Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jason_kraft Posted 2 Oct 2013 , 3:56am
post #2 of 29

AThis happened to us quite a bit when we were running our bakery...I would generally spend a few minutes on the phone answering questions, eventually pivoting the conversation to our private baking and decorating lessons which were offered at $70/hour and up depending on the curriculum.

morganchampagne Posted 2 Oct 2013 , 3:58am
post #3 of 29

AYeah...it's been suggested that I teach a little bit but I have no interest in that. At least not right now. I guess really I just have to suck it up and not be a baby about it

morganchampagne Posted 2 Oct 2013 , 4:04am
post #4 of 29

AJust tell them no

cupcakemaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupcakemaker Posted 2 Oct 2013 , 6:33am
post #5 of 29

AYes, just say no!

Smckinney07 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Smckinney07 Posted 2 Oct 2013 , 6:49am
post #6 of 29