Simple Wedding Cake, But Driving Me Nuts

Decorating By btdubose Updated 7 Oct 2013 , 8:42pm by remnant3333

btdubose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
btdubose Posted 30 Sep 2013 , 7:52pm
post #1 of 8

I have a very simple looking wedding cake to do, however for whatever reason it is about ready to make me want to scream.  I have been doing cakes for several years and idk if it's just stress or what, but I have a simple 3 tier wedding cake to do, each tier is 3 layers, my last wedding cake this size collapsed on me during delivery (which is why I think I am so stressed out about this one) so this one will not be assembled until I reach the venue.   It is a simple square cake with a double overlapping fondant border and 3 fondant bows with rhinestone brooch's in center of each bow.

My question is, the fondant border, I can't put it on until after it's assembled; right?  I hate having a crowd watch me work on assembling the cake, is it possible to put the border on before assembling?  there is no other icing border or anything to hide if the fondant gets messed up when stacking the cakes.  It is a double "ribbon" fondant border and if I can't put the border on until I assemble the cake, how do I transport the premade fondant ribbon without it drying out and cracking so I can put it on once I stack them?

Can I place the border on right before I leave to deliver?  will it fare the stacking process ok if it's not completely dry?

Please help ease the stress!!!! thanks!!!

7 replies
-K8memphis Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
-K8memphis Posted 30 Sep 2013 , 11:15pm
post #2 of 8