Beginner's Fondant

Decorating By Cara-mel Updated 3 Oct 2013 , 3:25am by Cara-mel

Cara-mel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cara-mel Posted 27 Sep 2013 , 2:21am
post #1 of 11

AHi, I am new to serious cake decorating and I wanted to know what is best type of fondant to start out learning with? I have heard of all sorts of fondant (satin, marshmallow), fondant gumpaste 50/50 etc. I want to gain skill so I will start out making a weekly cake for my family. You all are definitely more experience than I am, I am good at the cooking and baking, decorating is a new adventure for me. I am grateful for ANY words of wisdom, thank you.

10 replies
AZCouture Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AZCouture Posted 27 Sep 2013 , 3:34am
post #2 of 11

AGoogle mmf, or look here in the recipes, it's the marshmallow fondant you referred to. Other than.that, just start skimming the forums here for information. Good luck.

glang1979 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
glang1979 Posted 27 Sep 2013 , 5:20am
post #3 of 11

I only have been at it a year and have made about 5 fondant cakes.  I knew that the Wilton fondant was disgusting so my first attempt was with MMF.  It turned out so-so but I suggest for your first try buy Wilton, Satin Ice, or something ready made....to get the idea of what the proper feel and texture should be like to work with.  My first batch of MMF was way too greasy and shiny and now I know that could of been corrected with additional powdered sugar.  Now I use MMF and it is delicious but I now also know what texture it should be.  Have fun and enjoy, it's addictive!

emetz74 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
emetz74 Posted 27 Sep 2013 , 8:48am
post #4 of 11

Good. I am trying my first fondant cake this weekend and I am using the Wilton fondant for that very reason.

MustangMollie Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MustangMollie Posted 27 Sep 2013 , 9:33am
post #5 of 11